System Administration
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

To DownGrade HP-UX Unlimited User License

 
Clarence Lee
Regular Advisor

To DownGrade HP-UX Unlimited User License

Dear all,

I have a rp7400 system running on os HPUX 11.11 with unlimited-user license.

Question, is there anyway where can i downgrade the value ?

If i do a  swremove for the package "userlicense" which consists of the "UNL-USER",

what will be the default value for number of license.  Will the system able to boot ?

 

Thank you in advance for the advise.

 

Regards,

Clarence

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

5 REPLIES

Re: To downgrade HP-UX Unlimited User License

Why do you want to do this?  HP-UX servers have been all sold with unlimited licenses for quite a while.

Torsten.
Acclaimed Contributor

Re: To downgrade HP-UX Unlimited User License

Number of users was important in times of good old terminals. Each terminal needed a user license. The default was 2 users, 1 for console, 1 for entire network, IIRC.


Hope this helps!
Regards
Torsten.

__________________________________________________
There are only 10 types of people in the world -
those who understand binary, and those who don't.

__________________________________________________
No support by private messages. Please ask the forum!

If you feel this was helpful please click the KUDOS! thumb below!   
Clarence Lee
Regular Advisor

Re: To downgrade HP-UX Unlimited User License

Aim is to reduce third parties software cost.

Regards,

Clarence

 

Matti_Kurkela
Honored Contributor

Re: To downgrade HP-UX Unlimited User License

The number of "users" (actually serial port terminal sessions) is no longer a part of HP-UX licence pricing model, so removing the UNL-USER package is not going to make your licenses any cheaper at all.

 

In fact, at some point of time (maybe HP-UX 11.00 or early 11.11 timeframe, if I recall correctly) HP offered the UNL-USER licences as a free download from software.hp.com. Since then, all new HP-UX installations have been "unlimited users" by default.

 

As Torsten says, before the unlimited users was the norm, the default was 2 users: one user license was considered enough to cover all network-based logins, and another license was reserved for the system console. You only had to think about user licences if you had extra serial ports added to your system.

MK

Re: To downgrade HP-UX Unlimited User License

>Aim is to reduce third parties software cost.

 

Which third party still bases their cost on the obsolete HP-UX license, instead of the number of CPUs/sockets or the honor system?