New Discussion юеВ

Upgrading HP-UX 11.23 from June07 to December07

SOLVED
Go to solution
compiler
Frequent Advisor

Upgrading HP-UX 11.23 from June07 to December07

Hi.

I'm new with HP-UX. I have 2 inherited machines: the first runs HP-UX 11.23 June 2007 and the second one runs HP-UX 11.23 December 2007.

It seems that the latest of them was installed a few months after the first one directly using December 2007 INSTALL CDs, because swagentd log doesn't shows any major "update". I mean that they doesn't installed June2007 and then upgraded. Seems a clean Dec2007 install.

My question is ...

What's the best way to upgrade (if possible, don't reinstalling) the June2007 machine to December2007 and leave both machines almost similar?

I know how to download and install single or multiple patches from ITRC, but I don't know what should I download to upgrade the entire O.S. to Dec2007.

Maybe there is an update CD and something like "swinstall -s /cdrom *"?

Is there any command similar to Linux Debian's "apt-get upgrade"?

Is done by downloading a big executable and executing it?

I noticed also that there are CDs including only patches, (not O.S. enhancements), so I don't fully understand the best way to keep both machines almost identical (by upgrading my June2007 machine, both patches and o.s. commands).

Thanks for any help :)
11 REPLIES 11
Torsten.
Acclaimed Contributor
Solution

Re: Upgrading HP-UX 11.23 from June07 to December07

Hi,

before you begin, always make sure you have a good backup.

For updating the OS from one revision to another (e.g. june to december), you should use update-ux.

more info here:

http://docs.hp.com/en/5992-1978/index.html

Hope this helps!
Regards
Torsten.

If you feel this was helpful please click the KUDOS! thumb below!   
Tingli
Esteemed Contributor