Operating System - Linux
1753865 Members
7573 Online
108809 Solutions
New Discussion

Where I can get a full copy of FREE Linux with all necessary packages?

Hanry Zhou
Super Advisor

Where I can get a full copy of FREE Linux with all necessary packages?

I am a HPUX administrator with quite some years experience, but not too much on Linux (redhat or compatible ), However, I have been told to get a free Linux for an application which we have alredy have license with in a Production environment.

Would anybody please let me know where I can get a freel Linux software, and if it is all possible?

none
6 REPLIES 6
Chhaya_Z
Valued Contributor

Re: Where I can get a full copy of FREE Linux with all necessary packages?

Hi,

I did not understand your question, do you want a free Linux OS?  What are your necessary packages and requirements?

For example Fedora (sponsored by Red Hat), Ubuntu, and lots more are free.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Linux

Regards,
Chhaya

I am an HP employee.
Was this post useful? - You may click the KUDOS! star to say thank you.
tony j. podrasky
Valued Contributor

Hello Hanry Zhou;

1. GOOGLE "download Linux" and then go to the site to download the iso version and burn it to DVD. (FREE).

2. Go on eBay and buy a DVD for less than $5.00 - including shipping - and save yourself the hassle of what is involved with #1.

WARNING: if you've got other disks (with data on them) in the computer you are going to use to load Linux on, either be VERY CAREFUL or else disconnect those disks first. When you load Linux it will give you the option of writing to one specific disk or formatting ALL OF THEM.
REMEMBER: Once you eliminate your #1 problem, #2 gets a promotion.
Hanry Zhou
Super Advisor

We are going to run a Oracle diagnostic application on the server. They don't want to spend money, so wanted to use FREE Linux OS. I am not sure if free O.S would run into any problem. So, ask you advice.

none
Matti_Kurkela
Honored Contributor