108789 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

clean_hids_logs.ksh

SOLVED
Go to solution
John Ivy
Frequent Advisor

clean_hids_logs.ksh

Can any one tell me what htis script is used for (clean_hids_logs.ksh). It is in my crontab file on my rx3600.
8 REPLIES 8
TTr
Honored Contributor

Re: clean_hids_logs.ksh

It looks like a home made script and based on its name it is used to clean up the logs of the HIDS (Host Based Intrusion Detection) so that they don't get very large and fill up your disk. You can look in it and see what it does, it probably saves the main log into a copy and deletes older copies of the log etc. Even if you are not shell script expert you may be able to read through it and see what it does.
John Ivy
Frequent Advisor

here is the whole file.
#!/usr/bin/ksh

/sbin/init.d/auditing stop
> /.secure/etc/audfile1
> /.secure/etc/audfile2
/sbin/init.d/auditing start
I am by no means an expert on script, to me it looks like it stops auditing and appends /.secure/etc/audfile1 to /.secure/etc/audfile2 and then starts auditing again. Is there a reason why I would need this script? It is on one of my backup servers and not on the production. It causeses a lot of auditing email messages that I have to clean up.
Matti_Kurkela
Honored Contributor

As there are no backslashes at the end of any line, each line is a separate command.

The two commands of the form "> filename" will _overwrite_ the file on the right side of the ">" sign with whatever is output by the left side, i.e. nothing at all. In other words, the commands will truncate both files to zero length.

To append something to the end of file, you would need ">>".

MK
MK
TTr
Honored Contributor