3120 Online
108761 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

cloning hard drives - HP-UX

SOLVED
Go to solution
RLord

cloning hard drives - HP-UX

Hi, I received this email from a friend and while I've had some experience with sun hardware/software, I haven't worked with HP-UX.
And I don't know if hardware changes (like the cdrom, and other interfaces) would be an issue.. could anyone help out here?

here is the email.. and I don't yet know what flavor/level of HP-UX he is talking about yet, not sure if that's relevant.

We are working on a project where we are upgrading some HP9000/382 and HP9000/700 series computers to HP C3600. The OP System is Unix. The ground up load is working fine for us. We have the desire to clone the drives and just plug them into future computers so the replication process is easier. Before we started acquiring an inventory of C3600, we were looking for input on the following.

It would be our intention to match the hardware as closely as possible, but would like to know if there is flexibility in this. Our intent would be to buy say 1 dozen of the same make, model and size hard drive. We would clone 11 off the original that we load from scratch. Assuming we plug each drive into the solo chassis for testing, everything should be fine there, so long as we cloned properly. So let's for the moment say we have that down.

The question that has arisen is, let's say all of the machines were the same (the 12) except for the CD ROM Drive. Let's say they were all meant to work in the C3600, but there might be variations in the make or model. Would plugging the hard drive into a second machine where the CD ROM hardware differed from the first cause the Unix Kernel not to recognize the CD ROM Drive?