1748247 Members
3665 Online
108760 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Re: expanding filesystems in SAN

jackie baron_1
Regular Advisor

expanding filesystems in SAN

I have lots of HPUX experience but none with SAN. How do I modify (expand) filesystems that are part of a SAN system? Obviously in my experience if I wanted to expand a filesystem (in the traditional way) I would just unmount it and use the lvextend commands, etc. but with SANs I'm clueless.

Thnx
18 REPLIES 18
Jorge Pons
Trusted Contributor

Hi

HPUX Version?
type of SAN?

Regards, Jorge
Jorge Pons
Trusted Contributor

Torsten.
Acclaimed Contributor

If you talkabout file systems it makes no difference where they are.

Most SAN (in fact SAN based disk arrays) allow to expand LUNs. HPUX 11.23 and above can handle this, 11.11 cannot.
So you may consider to create another LUN, add the LUN to the VG, extend the LV and the file system.

Hope this helps!
Regards
Torsten.

If you feel this was helpful please click the KUDOS! thumb below!   
Ismail Azad
Esteemed Contributor

Hi,

Adding to Torsten.... yes, it doesn't make much of a difference and since you are unmounting your file system.... looks like you have an FOE or BOE with Base JFS product and i guess by that etc. in your question you mean extendfs because an lvextend only extends the container of the filesystem that is your LV and not the filesystem itself.

Only thing that you would have to remember while working with a LUN is a quote from many documents "HPUX normally has no visiblility to the disks within a LUN"... I quoute that out of context since we are talking about LVM configuration, probably one of the few things notable while working with SAN and LVM in terms of configuration of LVM.

Regards
Ismail Azad

Read, read and read... Then read again until you read "between the lines".....
jackie baron_1
Regular Advisor

HPUX version is 11.23.

Have a file system that is 230Gb and need to make it 260Gb.
Alzhy
Honored Contributor