New Discussion юеВ

how to expand disk space on linux

SOLVED
Go to solution
KathyK
Regular Advisor

how to expand disk space on linux

Hi all,

I'm very new to Linux. We have a drive on our linux box that is nfs mounted to the hp boxes. the drive is getting full and since there was not a volume group created on it, need to know if there is a way to expand it at this poing could we create a volume group and add that disk to it at this time?

here is the information I get on the system:

pvdisplay -v /dev/sda1
Using physical volume(s) on command line
No physical volume label read from /dev/sda1
Failed to read physical volume "/dev/sda1"

/dev/sda1 258033560 229383152 15542980 94% /vol

your help is very much appreciated since this is becoming an urgent situation.

12 REPLIES 12
Jayan Nair
Frequent Advisor

Re: how to expand disk space on linux

Hi
You have only one disk and that is full.
add one more disk and create
1. physical volume:
pvcreate /dev/sda1
pvcreate /dev/sdb1
2. create volume group
vgcreate VolGroup00 /dev/sda1 /dev/sdb1
3. create logical volume
lvcreate -L 10G /dev/VolGroup00/LogVol01
lvcreate -L 10G /dev/VolGroup00/LogVol02

T
kelvinlnx
Advisor

Becareful... pvcreate /dev/sda1 will destroy your data.
1. Backup your data
2. Add a new drive
3. pvcreate /dev/sda1
4. pvcreate /dev/sdb1 (assuming the new drive's been partitioned... etc)
5. Create your volume group using vgcreate
6. Create your logical volume using lvcreate
7. Create a filesystem with mkfs.ext3
8. Edit your /etc/fstab
9. Mount it and restore your backup.
Ralph Grothe
Honored Contributor
Solution

Hi Kathy,

it hasn't become fully clear to me if you want to change from old partition to LVM layout?

Since you applied the pvdisplay command unsuccessfully on /dev/sda1 this partition obviously isn't an LVM PV and thus can't be used to extend any volumes.