6551 Online
108789 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Re: howto get rid of NO_HW?

DuKul
Regular Advisor

howto get rid of NO_HW?

Hello all,
I have the server with two FC adapters (HP Tachyon XL2). There has been the SAN switches change.
After the change some FCP Domain devices stayed in NO_HW (I think these items in ioscan output represents the old switches...) Everything is working well, but I would like to get rid of the NO_HW status in ioscan output without reboot.
These items (FCP Domain) have no special files associated, only FC adapter have.
My idea is to use rmsf to remove the special file and HW information for one of the FC adapters with all his children and then recreate the special files and HW info again with inssf. I suppose that the data will flow through the second FC adapter so no data flow interruption will be observed....
I have never done such a sequence before, neither I am sure about this idea, so that is why I am asking for your opinion/experience whether or not it would help.
Best regards
Dusan
18 REPLIES 18
siva0123
Trusted Contributor

Hi,

insf -e
ioscan -fn

Should help you.

Thanks,
Siva
DuKul
Regular Advisor

Hi Shiva,
I doubt that because the insf -e would help because it only reinstalls the special files if some of them were removed and they are there.
But the switches mentioned are NOT there.
Torsten.
Acclaimed Contributor

Hi,

2 possibilities:

1) reboot the server

2) perform a "rmsf -k -H" followed by the hw-path of the removed devices

Hope this helps!
Regards
Torsten.

If you feel this was helpful please click the KUDOS! thumb below!   
SANTOSH S. MHASKAR
Trusted Contributor

Hi,

Yes u can remove the device files using rmsf,

first probe for devices

# ioscan -fn|more

note the HW_PATH of items having NO_HW state.

then

# rmsf -H

u can create device files for newly probed
devices.

# insf -e

TO get the rid of NO_HW u have to reboot the system.

-Santosh
DuKul
Regular Advisor

Please,
as I have already written: