7466 Online
108809 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

received a SIGSEGV for stack growth failure

Nick Raceu
Occasional Advisor

received a SIGSEGV for stack growth failure

Hello,

After installing the DST patch (PHCO_35991) and rebooting the machine, I can not use AUTOSYS software. I get the following error: "Pid 8429 received a SIGSEGV for stack growth failure. Possible causes: insufficient memory or swap space, or stack size exceeded maxssiz."
I'm new to HP-UX so please let me know what info should I provide.
I'm running HP-UX B.11.00 and Oracle 8.0.6
Thanks
16 REPLIES 16
A. Clay Stephenson
Acclaimed Contributor

Re: received a SIGSEGV for stack growth failure

I very much doubt that the tztab patch had anything to do with your problem. It is probable that you either exceeded a kernel limit (maxdsiz or maxssiz) or more swap is needed.

Please post the output of these commands:

kmtune
swapinfo -tam
If it ain't broke, I can fix that.
Pete Randall
Outstanding Contributor

Nick,

I have to wonder if these two aren't just coincidence. The DST patch really only affect the /usr/lib/tztab file which shouldn't have any affect on maxssize. Check the date/time stamps on /stand/system, /stand/vmunix and /stand/vmunix.prev, compared against /etc/shutdownlog. I'm wondering if someone played with maxssiz, then built a new kernel but never re-booted with that new kernel.

Pete

Pete
Nick Raceu
Occasional Advisor

Hi Clay,
here is the info:
/home/root# swapinfo -tam
Mb Mb Mb PCT START/ Mb
TYPE AVAIL USED FREE USED LIMIT RESERVE PRI NAME
dev 1024 0 1024 0% 0 - 1 /dev/vg00/lvol2
reserve - 226 -226
memory 998 102 896 10%
total 2022 328 1694 16% - 0 -
Nick Raceu
Occasional Advisor

Hi Pete,

Looks like the system has been rebooted several times since the last kernel has been re-built:
root@chapters:/stand# ls -ltr
total 70166
drwxr-xr-x 2 root root 8192 Dec 20 2000 lost+found
-rw-r--r-- 1 root sys 19 Dec 20 2000 bootconf
-r--r--r-- 1 root sys 82 Dec 20 2000 kernrel