System Administration
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

removing disks and clearing up traces of disks

Darius Shafie
Frequent Advisor

removing disks and clearing up traces of disks

In HPUX 11.31 I have noticed that after I deactivate a VG and export it, in SMH I still see disks that are associated with that VG. Now if I wanted to remove these disks and clean up any trace of them there in no option for that in SMH.

After exporting the vg how can I remove or delete all traces of disks that were associated with that vg?

Thanks.
1 REPLY
James R. Ferguson
Acclaimed Contributor

Re: removing disks and clearing up traces of disks

Hi Darius:

When a 'vgexport' is done, the '/etc/lvmtab' is updated and the device files for the volume group are removed.

The physical volume ID and the volume group ID written to the actual disk remain. This allows you to 'vgimport' disks.

You can use 'pvremove' to erase this LVM metadata from the physical disk. See the 'pvremove' manpages.

Regards!

...JRF...