1752587 Members
4782 Online
108788 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Re: setting acl on AD users

Maaz
Valued Contributor

setting acl on AD users

I have a samba server(as a MS Windows AD member server).
can I grant/set permissions on users/group of AD on shared folders stored on samba server.

in other words, on a samba server that has joined AD domain, I want to assign permissions on users of AD on directories on samba server.

Regards
Maaz
8 REPLIES 8
Court Campbell
Honored Contributor

Yes you can.
"The difference between me and you? I will read the man page." and "Respect the hat." and "You could just do a search on ITRC, you don't need to start a thread on a topic that's been answered 100 times already." Oh, and "What. no points???"
Maaz
Valued Contributor

Hi Court Campbell
>Yes you can.
:), thanks but if you can also please guide how to do this ?
any url/doc/tutorial ?

Regards
Ivan Ferreira
Honored Contributor

To be able to set permissions to files and folders, you must map the UID/GID to Windows SIDS. For this job, probably, winbind is the way to go.
Por que hacerlo dificil si es posible hacerlo facil? - Why do it the hard way, when you can do it the easy way?
Court Campbell
Honored Contributor

Well, I assume that you are using winbind. If so and all is working, you just use the chown or chgrp commands. I just assume you are already familiar with those commands.
"The difference between me and you? I will read the man page." and "Respect the hat." and "You could just do a search on ITRC, you don't need to start a thread on a topic that's been answered 100 times already." Oh, and "What. no points???"
Maaz
Valued Contributor

Hi Ivan Ferreira and Court Campbell, thanks for help.
I dont know about winbind, because this SAMBA server is SLES 10, SLES 10 can join AD Domain, using 3 or 4 mouse clicks, very smoothly and without any issue.

Anyhow I'll check it

Thanks
Gokul Chandola
Trusted Contributor

Hi,
You can do this.