5816 Online
108788 Solutions
New Discussion

Re: storage in root is 100% usage, what to remove to free it

ArAgOnHaMz
Occasional Contributor

storage in root is 100% usage, what to remove to free it

Hi,

You can see below my  space at '/' is 100% use. 

Filesystem            Size  Used Avail Use% Mounted on

/dev/cciss/c0d0p6      20G   19G     0     100%    /

/dev/cciss/c0d0p7     9.7G  151M  9.1G   2% /tmp

/dev/cciss/c0d0p5      20G  2.0G   17G  11% /usr

/dev/cciss/c0d0p3      20G  6.5G   12G  36% /var

/dev/cciss/c0d0p2      20G  3.5G   15G  19% /opt

/dev/cciss/c0d0p1     2.0G   41M  1.8G   3% /boot

/dev/mapper/vg0-lv0   8.8T  7.0G  8.3T   1% /global/home

/dev/mapper/vg1-lv1   7.6T   22G  7.2T   1% /global/apps

Im new to these things, please help me how to find out what is exactly causing this issue. I wanted to know maybe is there any hidden files or something that cause this problem. Or maybe is it a harddrive failure.?

Thanks in advance

Hamar

P.S. This thread has been moved from storage>General to Linux > sysadmin. -HP Forum Moderator

5 REPLIES 5
Johan Guldmyr
Honored Contributor

Hi, 

you can use 'du' to find out what is using the most. For example this:

cd /

du -ch --max-depth=3 >> /tmp/listall 

would give you a list in /tmp/listall that has all the directories within 3 levels and how large each is.

20G for /opt and /usr was perhaps a bit too much?

ArAgOnHaMz
Occasional Contributor

I can do that and infact i have tried listed themout, but the problem is that whenever i use the command du, it just stops there on the screen and hang. Any other ways to see them.

Johan Guldmyr
Honored Contributor

If you run the command I showed then all the files should be listed in /tmp/listall, not on the screen.

If there's nothing in there either, check /var/log/messages (might vary, what OS are you running) for errors.

There are other tools than du to list files (find for example).

Matti_Kurkela
Honored Contributor