108789 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

telnet localhost here document

SOLVED
Go to solution
Shabu Khan-2
Frequent Advisor

telnet localhost here document

I am trying to get a script working on Red Hat Linux kernel 2.6, this works on HP-UX just fine but not on RHL.
# echo "SHUTDOWN" | telnet localhost 51001

works fine on HP-UX, it shuts down the process that is running on port 51001 and closes the port, this is the vendor recommended way, they don't want us to kill the PID but just do it this way.

the same one-liner on RHL has problems, it doesn't shutdown, it works if I do this:
# telnet localhost 51001
SHUTDOWN

But if I try to put it in a here document it wouldn't do it:
# telnet localhost 51001 <
6 REPLIES 6
Shabu Khan-2
Frequent Advisor

Re: telnet localhost here document

Anyone?
smatador
Honored Contributor

Hi,
I have no experience with a application stop in this condition, I just suggest you to check the xinetd.conf to see if telnet is enable, perhaps it could be the issue, or check if you have firewall..
Matti_Kurkela
Honored Contributor
Solution

I think I've seen similar behaviour once somewhere. Too bad I don't remember exactly what was the workaround/fix...

You might try something like this:

( echo "SHUTDOWN"; sleep 1 ) | telnet localhost 51001

MK
MK
Shabu Khan-2
Frequent Advisor

Thanks folks for responding.

telnet from the command line works so disabling telnet is not the problem, but Matti's solution worked and I am really surprised.

Matti,
Can you explain why a sleep command after the SHUTDOWN helped?
I really appreciate your assistance.

Thanks,
Matti_Kurkela
Honored Contributor

That was more interesting than I expected. Apparently this is related to the differences between BSD and System V, the two big branches of the family tree of unix-like systems.

RedHat's behaviour is actually a known (mis)feature of the BSD implementation of the telnet command, while the HP-UX telnet is probably a descendant of the System V implementation.