System Administration
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

volume group removal & reuse

 
Ratzie
Super Advisor

volume group removal & reuse

I can not test, so I would like to post this to the guru's...
We have a server that we are going to upgrade and clean up. A question arose around the "reuse" of volume groups...

[root@nsreport ~]# vgdisplay -s
"vg04" 136.61 GB [136.61 GB used / 0 free]
"vg03" 1.09 TB [1.09 TB used / 1.34GB free]
"vg02" 279.37 GB [60.00 GB used / 219.37GBfree]
"vg01" 136.47 GB [71.00 GB used / 65.47GB free]
"vg00" 33.77 GB [28.00 GB used / 5.77 GB free]

If we create a volume group vg05, migrate all of vg01, 02, 03, 04 into vg05
We then remove vg01, 02, 03, 04

Can we rename the volume group to vg01?

Do we deactivate the volume group, then remove?
We are running RH ES4

2 REPLIES
Ivan Ferreira
Honored Contributor

Re: volume group removal & reuse

RH provides the vgrename command, the volume group must be deactivated.
Por que hacerlo dificil si es posible hacerlo facil? - Why do it the hard way, when you can do it the easy way?
Steven E. Protter
Exalted Contributor

Re: volume group removal & reuse

Shalom,

vgrename is not what a command as you may have been used to in HP-UX. You can rename it or vgexport/vgimport under a different name. Just create a map file to read so your naming is preserved.

SEP
Steven E Protter
Owner of ISN Corporation
http://isnamerica.com
http://hpuxconsulting.com
Sponsor: http://hpux.ws
Twitter: http://twitter.com/hpuxlinux
Founder http://newdatacloud.com