1748194 Members
3475 Online
108759 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

OpenVMS keyboard issues

Jim Geier_1
Regular Advisor

OpenVMS keyboard issues

I've been using and managing OpenVMS systems for about 30 years. This problem but surprised me and did not surprise me. We noticed this problem when we rolled out LDAP so user's passwords on the OpenVMS systems are synchronized with Active Directory.

Our users use a couple of terminal emulators and telnet to our OpenVMS systems. Many of our users use the numeric keypad quite a bit, so in their password, they sometimes add an asterisk, hyphen, plus-sign, or slash and in Windows, they use those keys on the numeric keypad. Then, when they use the same keystrokes for their password on the OpenVMS system, the non-numeric keys on the numeric keypad do not work (asterisk, hyphen, plus, or slash). I also notice that with I use the Reflection terminal emulator, those same keys do not work at all in the VMS session, it is not that they do not work at the password prompt, they do not work at all.

Knowing that there are many, many different types of keyboards, this might seem an almost ridiculous question, but is there any way to have those keys be recognized by OpenVMS the same way the are recognized in Windows? And this would have to be when entering one's password, before their process is authenticated, so a fix by making some setting in one's login script is not going to work well.
9 REPLIES 9
Hoff
Honored Contributor

Re: OpenVMS keyboard issues

In no particular order...

Chances are, you're tussling with the terminal emulator, or with the emulator settings. Not VMS. VMS is probably a bystander here.

VMS recognizes those keys just fine when you're using a real VT terminal or a VT-compliant emulator, and when you have that terminal or emulator set to use the numeric keypad and not the application keypad.

You're expecting numeric keypad mode here, with your password prompting requirements.