108760 Solutions
New Discussion

Re: Patching Integrity server VMS

SOLVED
Go to solution
slabrat
Frequent Visitor

Patching Integrity server VMS

I have been givena task to fix the time Date booting issue on our 1 and only RX2660 Server running 8.3.1h1 VMS. 

The patches are available to me to install. However I am a new system manager  familiar with VMS just never had to manage the system. Everybody is retiring (except me) 

So could someone point me to the correct procedure to install these patches? I know we used to FTP them from a site and then install from a non system disk; 

I vaguely remember this being done and have a remote Ideas how to do this but a procedure would help. I have a spare

system to practice on so it's not like I will destroy the system. 

The is a guy at HP support that  sent me a website to gete the patches but we haven't  heard back from him. I am able to download them to a PC so I have access (when the site is not crashing.) 

I just need a procedure for confidence.

The most recent post I found was from 2006  Things could have changed since then 

Sound pitiful enough??    

Thanks for any help in the right direction

10 REPLIES 10
Steven Schweda
Honored Contributor

slabrat
Frequent Visitor
Solution

I found an Upgrade  to 8.4 that will get  installed  in the morning . Sounds much more sane than installing  about 10 gig  of patches. I guess I didn't put enough information out here. The patch database kept crashing also. 

Probably a little burnt out and got this handed to me. I will be a better poster next time.  

Found a bunch of info when I uncompressed the upgradeto,8.4 For the patches I kept looking for info in the docs. and I couldn't find anything. I'm not sure but I think I can copy the zip to a VMS disk and uncompress it there. I didn't know how to do this. I do now..  after reading the upgrade docs. 

All may be well after all. 

Weather needs to warm up that would help.

Steven Schweda
Honored Contributor

slabrat