Operating System - OpenVMS
1751883 Members
5390 Online
108783 Solutions
New Discussion

Re: RAD Configuration on "new" BL860c I2 (8-core, 32GB Mem)

The Brit
Honored Contributor

RAD Configuration on "new" BL860c I2 (8-core, 32GB Mem)

I posted an earlier tale focused on a performance issue on a "new" BL860c I2 blade, and which I suspected might be a FC issue.     Based on a response to that post (from Maurizio De Tommaso, thankyou), I turned by attention to the RAD setup.

I should point out that 1) the blade in question is actually a "loaner" from HP, and 2)  I have no experience at all with RAD's.

As I mentioned, this is a BL860C I2.    It is configured with 2 x Quad-core CPU's (8 cores total) and 32GB of memory.

I have included a text file containing the output from

1)    SYS$EXAMPLES:RAD.COM        (Does this look like an OK configuration??    I'm wondering if this blade might have been previously used in an HP UX Virtual host setup?)

2)   Running the RADCHECK utility on the problem process (currently running).    HOME RAD = 1

i.e.    $  RADCHECK -PROCESS 20204BB7

3)  Show Process /all  /ID=20204BB7

4)  Show CPU/full

I am really interested in whether this is  an appropriate RAD configuration?   

I am considering changing the memory config to MaxUMA, i.e. disabling RAD support on this blade, and just having 32GB of Interleaved Memory.

Any Comments on that.

Dave

P.S. my thanks to Volker, I have not dropped the FC considerations and will follow up on that in the next couple of days.

4 REPLIES 4
The Brit
Honored Contributor

Still cant see the attachment.      Including the text.

CONFIGURATION INFORMATION.

------------------------------------------------------------
$  @sys$examples:rad.com

Node: TABBUD Version: V8.4      System: HP BL860c i2  (1.73GHz/6.0MB)

RAD   Memory (GB)   CPUs
===   ===========   ===============
  0       14.00                   0-3
  1       14.00                   4-7
  2        3.99                    0-7