New Discussion

Newbie : HP Systems Mangement Homepage SSL Heartbleed bug; Cert regeneration

SOLVED
Go to solution
aruntechie123
Visitor

Newbie : HP Systems Mangement Homepage SSL Heartbleed bug; Cert regeneration

Hello All,

I am new to managing a Windows Server environment which is a mix of Windows Server 2003/2008  (32/64 bit) versions.

Recently, several hundred servers had been detected with the Heartbleed bug on port 2381 which I beleive is related to SMH. The SMH version was 7.2.2 which HP recommeds to upgrade to 7.2.3.

Because of the priority, I quickly upgraded these to 7.2.3 by installing the suggested .exe on HP site :

http://h20566.www2.hp.com/portal/site/hpsc/template.PAGE/public/kb/docDisplay?javax.portlet.begCacheTok=com.vignette.cachetoken&javax.portlet.endCacheTok=com.vignette.cachetoken&javax.portlet.prp_ba847bafb2a2d782fcbb0710b053ce01=wsrp-navigationalState%3DdocId%253Demr_na-c04251388-1%257CdocLocale%253D%257CcalledBy%253D&javax.portlet.tpst=ba847bafb2a2d782fcbb0710b053ce01&ac.admitted=1399017795638.87...

The above fixed the vulnerability and produced clean scans.

I now wish to regenerate the certificates and am completely lost on how I should do that. As per the doc above,

"If it is suspected that a datacenter has been compromised by this security vulnerability, delete the SMH certificate or back it up by moving it to a private folder. The SMH certificate is located on each node of the datacenter, with the filenames cert.pem and file.pem, in folder C:\hp\sslshare. A new certificate will be created when the SMH service starts (at the end of the upgrade or new installation)."

Does the above mean that if simply delete cert.pem and file.pem and restart the SMH service, the certificates will be re-genreated and the issue is solved?

Or When it says  "(at the end of the upgrade or new installation)", does it mean that I have to reinstall 7.2.3?

(FYI, PKI is *not* being used in our environment.)

Please advise. Thanks.

4 REPLIES 4
NJK-Work