4492 Online
108757 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Re: DLT 35/70 and loading a tape

nitesh bharadia
Occasional Advisor

DLT 35/70 and loading a tape

Hi,
I am new to using these DLT's and wanted to know if there is a way to load a tape that has been ejected without going to the dlt drive and taking it out and putting it in again.
After using my backup sw it sometimes ejects the tape and I need to reload it automatically. I am using backupexec v9 if it helps on Windows 2000 Adv server
Thanks for any advice

Nitesh
12 REPLIES 12
Vincent Fleming
Honored Contributor

I'm not sure about backup exec, but Data Protector (aka OmniBack) has an option for setting this behavior. You should check your documentation. Look for something like "appendable media y/n", or even the straight-forward "eject when finished y/n".

DP even has the option to eject tapes when a full backup is done, but not when incrementals are done.

Good luck,

Vince
No matter where you go, there you are.
nitesh bharadia
Occasional Advisor

Thanks for the info. I found the option in Backupexec to NOT eject the tape after a backup.

All I need to find out now, is if it is possible to remotely mount/load a tape that has been ejected already. i.e. a job or command to say - load tape.

Are there any management tools for the tape device outside of the backup software itself?
Leif Halvarsson_2
Honored Contributor

Hi,
No, this is not possible. If the "Operate handle" LED is on the tape must be manually unloaded and loaded again before used.
Glenn Weavind_1
Frequent Advisor