1753879 Members
7178 Online
108809 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Re: Error on tape drive

Jeffrey F. Goldsmith
Super Advisor

Error on tape drive

I have a SMART Desktop SE DDS3 DAT Autochanger (C6366A) connected to my L2000 server. HP-UX 11.0 is the OS. The tape drive is connected to the SCSI/NIC card in slot #1.
I am getting errors on this tape drive almost every other week. I am not sure if it is because of the card or the drive. I am attaching the most current error. Hope that someone can help me with this.

Thanks.
8 REPLIES 8
David Bell_1
Honored Contributor

Jeff,

Without seeing the error you intended to post, take a look at the document located here:

http://support2.itrc.hp.com/service/cki/docDisplay.do?docLocale=en_US&docId=200000016256931

HTH,

Dave
Jeffrey F. Goldsmith
Super Advisor

Jeffrey F. Goldsmith
Super Advisor

Dave,

I checked out the site that you gave me. I have been using this tape drive on my L2000 for the past 4 months with great success. The problem is that about every other week I get some kind of a tape error. What I am wondering is could there be a problem with the SCSI/NIC card. I am considering purchasing a new SCSI card (A5150A?) and install the tape drive to its own channel.
David Bell_1
Honored Contributor

Jeff,

You may want to look at this document as well. This appears to be something associated to SCSI polling:

http://support1.itrc.hp.com/service/cki/docDisplay.do?docLocale=en_US&docId=200000058984692

HTH,

Dave
Jeffrey F. Goldsmith
Super Advisor

David,

I checked the site you gave me and followed the instructions. I found that POLL_INTERVAL is commented out so it isn't a factor in the problem.

Any other suggestions?
David Bell_1
Honored Contributor

Jeff,