StoreEver Tape Storage
1752480 Members
5569 Online
108788 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Re: How long do HP DAT 72 data cartridges last?

Tim Lanai

How long do HP DAT 72 data cartridges last?

I have been using 5 tapes for the last two years, each one once per week, so they have done about 100 back ups. I have some other tapes that I have been using once per month for the last 3 1/2 years to they have about 40 back ups. Lastly I have some other tapes that are 3 1/2 years old that I have used once per year so they have 3 or 4 back ups on them.

Do I need to replace the older tapes even though they don't have many back-ups on them? How many back ups can I do on the newer tapes? By using older or worn out tapes, does it hurt the tape drive?

I use the cleaning catridge on a weekly basis. How many cleans can I do on that tape before i should replace it?

I just had to replace my 3 1/2 year old tape drive at a cost of $500 and I don't want to go through that again.

Thanks
3 REPLIES 3
Richard Bickers
Trusted Contributor

Hi Tim. I contacted the media team and they gave me this reply:

The lifespan of DAT tapes can be dependant on many factors; environmental usage conditions, non-use storage conditions, back-up routine, load/unload frequency etc. As a rule of thumb DAT tapes are warranted to last 100 full volume back-up/restores or a combination of the two up to 100 as detailed in the following link:

http://h20000.www2.hp.com/bizsupport/TechSupport/Document.jsp?locale=en_US&taskId=120&prodSeriesId=34632&prodTypeId=12169&objectID=lpg50335

They also carry a 30 year archive cover, again, as long as correct conditions are adhered to.

The number of cleans that can be obtained from a cleaning cartridge is dictated by the firmware in the drive. The HP DAT 72 provides 50 cleans and then the cartridge should be discarded - it will not clead after that and will eject immediately.