108760 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Re: Installing fibre MSL6060 in Win2K environment

SOLVED
Go to solution
otukile
Frequent Advisor

Installing fibre MSL6060 in Win2K environment

I have never worked on an MSL library before so excuse my ignorance.

I have a new fibre MSL6060 with 2 routers and 4 drives. I have just connected it to the Win2K server and installed the blank drivers for the routers and have setup connection to one of the router through html interface. The backup software is Netvault.

I need some simple basic step-by-step setup procedure of configuring the library until the software can see all the 4 drives. The manuals confuse the daylights out of me.

Don't panic
8 REPLIES 8
Steven Clementi
Honored Contributor

Well.... first we need to make sure your cabling is correct.

The 2 NSR's should be dual port SCSI single port Fibre?

On the first nsr, you should have the first drive, bottom scsi port connected to SCSI 0 on the nsr. Drive 2 shold connect to SCSI 1. Drive 2 should have a terminator on the second scsi port and drive 1 should have a cable to the robotics card(bottom port). There should be a terminator on the top port of the robotics card.

The second nsr should be cabled the same way wwith drive 3 and 4. Terminators on the top scsi and cables to SCSI 0 and SCSI 1 on the NSR.

Now, what type of SAN switch do you have? or are you directly connecting the NSR's fibre ports to the server's fibre hba?

Depending on the switch you have, you may need to enable zoning or modify the zoning. I will assume this is done since you were able to see the nsr's and load the device file for them.

Can you confirm all this? Once confirmed, we can continue with the NSR mappings.

Steven
Steven Clementi
HP Master ASE, Storage, Servers, and Clustering
MCSE (NT 4.0, W2K, W2K3)
VCP (ESX2, Vi3, vSphere4, vSphere5, vSphere 6.x)
RHCE
NPP3 (Nutanix Platform Professional)
otukile
Frequent Advisor