New Discussion юеВ

Re: MSL5026SL BRC

SOLVED
Go to solution
Vincent Farrugia
Honored Contributor

Thanks for your help.

Eugeny, I will try to update the firmware and fingers-crossed.

Curtis, what could be the problem then? I know the SDLT IS backward-compatible, cuz it IS recognising the DLT IV tapes as such, cuz the write-protect LED lights up as soon as I enter a DLT IV tape, even if the notch is not in that position. I think this is a media recognition problem rather than a compatibility issue. What do you think?

Vince
Tape Drives RULE!!!
Curtis Ballard
Honored Contributor

Vince,

I have confirmed that no MSL 5026SL libraries were shipped with non-BRC drives. Your drives should be able to read the DLT type IV media. I'm not an expert on the SDLT drives, but I do know of a few possibilities.

Clean the drive - the type IV read capability uses a different read channel that may need cleaned even if there are no clean requests issued when using SDLT tapes.

Check the format of the tape in a DLT8000 drive. If the tape shows up as DLT4000 format the drive won't read it. If the tape shows up as DLT7000 format the drives do not do as good of a job reading the tapes.

Other than those suggestions I can't offer much more help on the SDLT drives.
Curtis Ballard
Honored Contributor

One more tip. Some early DLT8000 drives have different heads and may write tapes that SDLT drive can not read. There isn't anything wrong with either drive in this case. Other DLT8000 drives should read those tapes fine but SDLT drives are a little more limited in what they can read.

If you can provide serial numbers for the drives that the tapes are written in I can probably check and see if they are the earlier drives. An LTT support ticket will show that serial number and some ISV applications will also show it.
Vincent Farrugia
Honored Contributor

Hello,