108783 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Re: Storing DLT tapes

SOLVED
Go to solution
Theresa Patrie
Regular Advisor

Storing DLT tapes

We are looking for a storage solution for our DLT tapes. Right now they are stored in plastic bags in locked metal cabinets. Our main concern is water damage if the sprinkler systems went off and leaked into the cabinets. I checked out Turtlecase storage boxes and they look like they might do the job. Does anyone have any comments or other suggestions?? Thanks!

P.S. This thread has been moved from Storage>General to Tape Libraries and Drives. -HP Forum Moderator

This is my easy job!
8 REPLIES 8
Jared Westgate_1
Valued Contributor

Hello Theresa,

I have never used a Turtlecase before, but I didn't see anyone responding to your question, so I thought I'd be the first.

I just wanted to say not to forget about fire protection. If your sprinklers are coming on, it probably means theres a fire!

But seriously, we use a fire resistant safe to store our media. At every monthend, we do a special full backup that subsequently gets stored in a safe deposit box of a local bank. It certainly isn't perfect, but hopefully (we haven't had to yet) it will work. If your media is important enough to be protected against water/fire damage, it should be important enough to store offsite.

Just don't forget to clearly define exactly what you are protecting against, along with all other requirements, in order to find the best solution (You'd be suprised how often people don't do this). I'm sure you've heard all this before, but I just thought I'd give you my two cents.

Best of luck,

Jared
harry d brown jr
Honored Contributor

Are the tapes stored off site or onsite? Plastic bags sound good, providing they are closable.
Live Free or Die
A. Clay Stephenson
Acclaimed Contributor

Hi,