1748151 Members
3965 Online
108758 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Re: Surestore DLT 80 / 29160N

Leon Majewski

Surestore DLT 80 / 29160N

Hello
Has anyone had success in connecting an external HP Surestore DLT 80 to the internal 68 pin connector on the adaptec 29160N scsi/pci adapter?

I seem to be having a bit of trouble.

dlt 80: id 5
29160N: id 7 (default settings, including auto termination)
cable: 68pin Ultra2 scsi cable with terminator

I normally have a couple of internal scsi 50pin devices, but i disconnected them to aid in troubleshoot.

With this config, I get timeouts on id5. I'm a scsi novice, so have little idea about what could be the problem/solution.

Is it a 68-wide vs 68-ultra 2 problem?

(I'm running Redhat Linux 7.2 if that could be an issue)

Thanks for any info,
Leon
4 REPLIES 4
Eugeny Brychkov
Honored Contributor

Leon,
N means Narrow. If your DLT8000 drive is really LVD-wide you should use 29160lp, see http://www.hp.com/cposupport/information_storage/support_doc/lpg50063.html
Eugeny
Leon Majewski

Hi Eugeny
I looked through the adaptec site for specs on the N and LP versions.

N:
Ext:One 50-pin for Ultra SCSI
Int:One 68-pin for LVD SCSI + One 50-pin for Ultra SCSI

LP: [recommended HBA]
Ext:One 68-pin VHDCI for LVD SCSI devices
Int:One 68-pin for LVD SCSI

But if the 80i and 80e have the same card suggested (LP), then the 80i must be working with the internal 68-pin -- same as the N internal connector.

Is this right or am I confused?

A couple of techs at uni suggest that they _should_ be compatible, but we'll investigate more tomorrow.

Thanks again,
Leon
Eugeny Brychkov
Honored Contributor

Maybe... look at this http://www.adaptec.com/worldwide/product/proddetail.html?sess=no&language=English+US&prodkey=ASC-29160N&cat=Products . It says
"Ultra160 SCSI performance for internal hard drives and external legacy devices" and "to attach external narrow SCSI devices".