noob question about HP e1200-320 4G

Piero Rodrigues

noob question about HP e1200-320 4G

Hello Mates

I have this structure:

Hp Proliant Enclosure + Hp Blades
Hp EVA storage connected to blades
and a MSI6030 Tape Library.

Everything is connected by Fiber in a fabric switch, which I don't know the manufacturer, probably cisco.

The Enc + proliants are working ok. The problem is the Tape Library. I have a HP e1200-320 4G connecting with the SCSI interfaces on MSI6030 and connecting at the same Fabric Switch. But I can't see anything about the HP e1200-320 4G or MSI6030 neither Windows or Linux machines. When I joined this company this structure was already like that, but they never used the tape library before. And it's my first time with this one as well.

I don't know exactly what to ask because a lack of experience on this devices, but, I want to know
1) Since the HP e1200-320 4G is connected by SCSI on MSI6030, the fiber connection is enough to me to access the tape library right?

2) I can access the HP e1200-320 4G management interface, and the discovery can see the SCSI connections with MSI6030, and tell me that the Fiber connection is up, BUT, discovery doesn't show anything on FC port. I have read the entire HP e1200-320 4G User Guide and it doesn't explain too much about it.

Apart from my two questions above, do you guys recommend some read before starting doing something?

Thank you very much, waiting for your reply.
3 REPLIES 3
V├нctor Cesp├│n
Honored Contributor

Re: noob question about HP e1200-320 4G

The e1200-320 is a SCSI to fiber channel router, which means that it translates between those two protocols.
It looks like you have the hardware correctly connected, and what remains is a configuration task.
First you need to configure the zoning on the FC switch. You say that the servers do not see the e1200-320, so the zoning is not right. They should detect it, even if it appears as "unknown device".