cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

regarding true cluster

N/A

regarding true cluster

Is there any document describing how to tune the system for better performance

one of orur customer shifted from normal tru64 to unix tru64 cluster and the performance of the product is 4 times slower than the former

for more information customer is using an edi product of hp named dec/edi
6 REPLIES
Rob Leadbeater
Honored Contributor

Re: regarding true cluster

Hi,

It's important to realiase that a clustered environment isn't necessarily going to give you any improvements in performance. Particularly if the applications don't understand how clusters work.

I've no experience of dec/edi but looking at the website http://www.decedi.com it would appear to be quite an old product. I would ask the software vendor how best to tune the OS for their software. As that vendor is HP, you should hopefully get a sensible answer !

Cheers,

Rob
N/A

BUT THE PRODUCT IS CLUSTER COMPATIBLE
cluster routines are there for supporting the cluster environment IN DEC/EDI
Rob Leadbeater
Honored Contributor

Just because it's compatible doesn't mean it's going to run faster...

If the product runs in failover mode, ie it normally just runs on node A in the cluster and restarts on node B in case of a failure of node A, then you probably will see worse performance. You will of course have better availability.

Cheers,

Rob
Hein van den Heuvel
Honored Contributor

Why did they go to a cluster?
What is the expectation for the cluster? Increased availabilty or increase performance?
What OS and Application versions are involved?

What is involved the test? SMTP? FTP? Mime? A database connection?

The attachment shows a 3 month old performance graph with no indication of what might be happening other then the name of a product.

It also shows 40% user mode and 60% system time. So go figure out what the CPUs are doing while system mode and you'll be on you way to an explanation.