Web and Unmanaged
1752812 Members
5897 Online
108789 Solutions
New Discussion

Re: How to assign port to access particular internet in multi internet switch?

AlbertLA
Occasional Contributor

How to assign port to access particular internet in multi internet switch?

Hi, i am new to switch configuration. I have two switches, A and B as show in attached picture, switch A connected with internet modem and provide internet connection to switch B. PC at switch B need to access share folder pc at switch A for their share files.

I planning to subscribe another internet plan (internet B as show in picture) and direct plug in the new internet modem to switch B while switch B still connected to switch A for access to share folder and internet A. Because some user at switch B need to access to share folder and internet A.

May i know how do i assign particular port at switch B to access internet B only, and no access to internet A? Because some user at switch B are hogging internet A bandwidth and make internet speed slow down.

planning

6 REPLIES 6
HP-Browniee
Respected Contributor

hello

I don't think it is possible what you want to do with that setup.

You need different vlans and policybased routing to do what you are asking. So therefor you need an Layer 3 switch.

I don't know if you are using multiple vlans already? if you are using only 1 vlan, what you are asking is not possible.

AlbertLA
Occasional Contributor

@HP-Browniee wrote:

hello

I don't think it is possible what you want to do with that setup.

You need different vlans and policybased routing to do what you are asking. So therefor you need an Layer 3 switch.

I don't know if you are using multiple vlans already? if you are using only 1 vlan, what you are asking is not possible.

Hi, both switches is with default VLAN and pc using same ip range which assign automatically by switch. That mean i must buy another Layer 3 switch? Or i can configure existing switch to multiple VLAN to do the same thing?