1745798 Members
3548 Online
108722 Solutions
New Discussion

Re: VLANs 1920 Setup

rnichols
Visitor

VLANs 1920 Setup

I am totally new to how to even fathom how to setup this up.  This is for a home enviroment I have a 1920-24G core switch that I want to vlan it is talking to MikroTek RB3011 that does vlan tagging as well.  I wanted to setup vlan for the main network that the kids cannot get to, and then a kids/guest one.  I also have an access point Ubiquti AC Pro, that does VLAN as well and was going to route all that thru the switch.  

I will be adding a 2nd switch for the cameras and adding another vlan at some point, and that would need to go to the main vlan.  Where do I start in figuring out how to accomplish this?  

Also can the vlans be used to do like a vlan for printers that both vlans can access but they cannot see each other?

Thank you

6 REPLIES 6
16again
Respected Contributor

Did you already look at the pdf manual? Vlan chapter starts at page 146 (out of 547)
Remember to use trunk mode instead of hybrid on port carrying multiple VLANs

rnichols
Visitor

How do i keep from loosing access to the switch while I am configuring the ports?  The computer ports are normally what untagged? then the trunk mode for like the access point and router and the other switches..

thank you

-TM-
Advisor

Access Ports ('untagged') are to be assigned to a single VLAN for a single Device, like PCs or Printers.

Trunk Ports ('tagged') can handle traffic for multiple VLANs and are connected to Routers and Switches which must have configured a Trunk port itself. For each VLAN you will need a virtual interface on the router to communicate with those Clients and route traffic to somewhere with routing to the internet or drop packets e.g. for inter VLAN communication.