New Discussion юеВ

Re: Yet another question about HP VLANs

SOLVED
Go to solution
kooper_hpnoob
Occasional Visitor

Yet another question about HP VLANs

Hi all

Apologies if this question has been asked a lot already. I'm extremely new to the more advanced concepts of networking, but I inherited an environment that's forcing me to try and learn it as fast as possible.

My current setup:

1 HP V1910-24 switch (L2+ I believe)

No additional configuration was ever done on this switch, meaning everything is on VLAN1 and all configurations are stock-standard.

I now have to get a point-to-point link in place using a VLAN with ID 25, which I've done by doing the following:

- Connected the link into port 5

- Created a new VLAN in the HP switch web interface with ID 25 and named it descriptively

- Configured port 5 to be a tagged member of VLAN 25

Port 5 is now a hybrid port, being a tagged member of VLAN 25, and an untagged member of VLAN 1. My question now is if I connect a device on port 4 (i.e. VLAN 1), would I be able to ping a device on the other end of VLAN 25 if the IP of my device is on the correct range?

My thinking is port 4 can communicate with port 5 since they're both members of VLAN 1, with port 5 being a tagged member of VLAN 25. If it's not that simple, do I need to configure the ports connected to the device I need to get onto VLAN 25 untagged members of VLAN 25 as well? If so, can they also be hybrid ports (i.e. untagged members of VLAN 1 and untagged members of VLAN 25)?

Again, I'm sorry if this question has been asked repeatedly and if it's a comparitively simple scenario, but I'm really struggling to get my head around it.

6 REPLIES 6
parnassus
Honored Contributor
Solution

What do you exactly mean with "...at the other end of VLAN 25"?