4130 Online
108788 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

SAN Replication

Jestin John Chacko
Regular Advisor

SAN Replication

Please clarify the following:

Is it possible to replicate from HP Xp12000 SAN to any other non-hp SAN Box located at different geographical site? If Yes, How? If No, Why?
8 REPLIES 8
Yogesh M Puranik
Valued Contributor

Re: SAN Replication

Hi,

I Think it is not possible because of,

1] Difference in Hardware architechture/Configuration.

2]Difference in LUN allocation Policies.

Althogh, You can manually sync. the data between two differnt SAN boxes.

Rgds

YMP
Liviu I.
Frequent Advisor

It should be obvious that the only replication possible given the above setup, would be using a host : one presents a volume from the XP12000 storage to a host; he builds a degraded RAID-1 software volume; then adding to the RAID-1 a volume presented from the non-hp box, the synchronization is realized by the OS of the host.
Still I am not experienced with any non-hp boxes in order to know if any of the producers support some emulation of the HP (XP) replication protocols, but being closed source I doubt there is one.
L.
TTr
Honored Contributor

There are virtualization appliances that allow you to do precisely that. It is not a simple setup neither cheap but every vendor has one. IBM calls it SVC, I know Cisco has one too and not sure what HP calls it.
Yogesh M Puranik
Valued Contributor

Hi,

You are points are highly appritiated, which will encourage us to reply you next time.

Rgds
YMP
Jestin John Chacko
Regular Advisor

Dear to all
thanks for the replies .....

yogesh sorry for the delay in submitting points for the same .....:)

Can i get a clear cut idea of the same ...is there any document that i can go through if so please give me the links for the same

your replies will be pointed sure :)
shIVinator.
Valued Contributor