Advancing Life & Work
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

The Journey of a Graduate at HPE

I graduated from a 4-year Marketing and Management degree in July 2015. As part of my ‘sandwich course’ , I had taken a 13 month Marketing Placement as an intern with HP in my third year. Shortly after graduating, I rejoined the new Hewlett Packard Enterprise, as a PreSales Graduate in the Software Education team.

I remember the first time I have come across an opportunity with HP: iShirlie, PreSales for Software Education Services in EMEA at Hewlett Packard EnterpriseShirlie, PreSales for Software Education Services in EMEA at Hewlett Packard Enterpriset was actually during my second year at University. I always liked to be busy, and so I was keen on taking on additional responsibilities and projects outside of my academic work. As a result, I was always on the lookout for new roles and opportunities that could help develop my experience and enhance my CV.

For this reason, I applied to become an on-campus Brand Ambassador representing HP at Newcastle University. By doing so, I learnt to showcase my ability to take initiative, work independently and to meet tight deadlines in a professional manner. Aside from the immediate responsibilities of the role, I learnt a lot about the company in the process of promoting its internships and placements to other students. For this reason, I decided to take a chance and apply for its internship programme, which led me to where I am today.

My interests involve staying fit and healthy, so as a result, I cram a lot of activities in my evenings and weekends in order to make the most of the time I have to do what I love. My day job is predominantly desk-based, therefore it’s important for me to make sure I have the balance of an active lifestyle out of the office.