BladeSystem - General
1752393 Members
6279 Online
108788 Solutions
New Discussion

Adding a VLAN ID causes an outage: C7000, HP 5800-AF-48XG. What's wrong?

Woter
Occasional Contributor

Adding a VLAN ID causes an outage: C7000, HP 5800-AF-48XG. What's wrong?

Hi,

Firstly, I am very new to blades (and HP switches for that) and have been learning on the job, so please me gental with me.

My aim is to add a new ESX Virtual Machine Port Group with a dedicated VLAN. Outside the world of Blades, this is straight forward in ESX and on the switch. I have to add the VLAN ID to the trunk port (Cisco world).

With Blades thown into the mix, I appear to have to add the new VLAN ID to various places on the Interconnect (HP VC FlexFabric 10Gb/24-Port Module). I have followed the "pattern" for other VLANs and I think its added correctly.

From the Virtual Connect Manager > Connections > Ethernet Networks, I have added two networks:

• CX_NLB_A (SUS1_A)
  • CX_NLB_B (SUS1_B)

Both have been assigned VLAN ID: 335.

I have done this for both Interconnect bays.

Under Connections > Server Profiles > {Blade} > Ethernet Adapter Connections, I have added my VLAN to the existing "Multiple Networks" vNet mapping.

On the switch side, we have four interfaces connecting to the VC ports:

• ff-cxenc1-1_X5
  • ff-cxenc1-2_X5
  • ff-cxenc1-1_X6
  • ff-cxenc1-2_X6

I went through each interface expanding the VLAN range to include 335. When I changes ff-cxenc1-2_X6, disaster struck. ESX through a major wobbly, essentially bringing down all guests. Whilst some ESX host and their guests in the second chassis recovered, all those affect by my change did not. As soon as I removed removed 335, service was restored.

On further investigation, in Virtual Connect Manager, under Connections > Ethernet Networks > External Connections > CX_NLB_x > Uplink Ports, I see:

• CX_NLB_A, Port: Bay 1 X5 (cxenc1), Status: LINKED-STANDBY
  • CX_NLB_A, Port: Bay 1 X6 (cxenc1), Status: LINKED-STANDBY