New Discussion юеВ

Re: c-Class blades and iLO

SOLVED
Go to solution
NJK-Work
Honored Contributor

c-Class blades and iLO

Hi,

I am new to blades and we currently have a demo unit (C7000) in house for evaluation purposes.

I am not understanding how the iLOs work on a blade. Does each blade require a dedicated data cable run to it for iLO oonnectivity. Or can all the blade iLOs feed off the Onboard Administratior connection. Thus for the latter, I would only need to run CAT6 cable (to the OA) instead of having to run 17 cables (one for OA and 16 for each of the blade iLOs). This would be in addition, of course, the the existing CAT6 cables run for the standard network connectivity of each blade.

This is assuming I am using an Ethernet pass-through interconnect.

Can someone clarify this for me?
Thanks
Nelson
8 REPLIES 8
Marek Nelec
Honored Contributor
Solution

Hi
All iLO ports are connected to the network through OA port, so you will need just one CAT6 cable (two if you will have redundant OA).
NJK-Work
Honored Contributor

Thanks. I did find the "Enclosure Bay IP Addressing", but it forces me to use a range of addresses.

I need to be able to assign unique addresses to each iLO, but still use the OA to do this. Is this possible.

In our enviroment, we have one subnet for management interfaces - lets called it 192.168.1 (Class C) for an demonstration purposes.

Our server ILO IPs are scattered throughout this range. For example, a non-blade server iLO may be using 192.168.1.25 and a blade ILO may be assigned by our data management group the 192.168.1.26 address (and .27 then being assigned to another non-blade server).

So how to I get the OA to allow me to assign non-contiguous IP addresses?
Thanks
Nelson
Marek Nelec
Honored Contributor

AFAIK it's not possible to assign non-contiguous IP addresses using OA. You can set static addresses on iLOs, or use DHCP server with DHCP-static mappings for these blades. Check out page 41 of this document: