4321 Online
108759 Solutions
New Discussion

Re: C7000 / Gen8 blades: the basics for a newbie

BridgeToNowhere
Occasional Advisor

C7000 / Gen8 blades: the basics for a newbie

Hi guys,

I’m new to HP Blade systems and in particular Flex-10 fabric.

We currently have a C7000 (commissioned by another team within the organisation using an HP partner for professional services so their understanding of the setup is also limited)

C7000 G2 Enclosure with:

12 empty bays

2x VC Flex 10 Ethernet Modules (455880-B21)

2x VC 8Gb 24-Port FC Modules (466482-B21)

I want to add 2 BL420 Gen8’s to the enclosure but trying to get my head around the setup before approaching our HP partner.

Have verified the enclosure firmware is at a level to support the Gen8 blades, but the Interconnect options between the blades and the enclosure is where I’m getting lost.

As we already have the 10Gb Ethernet Flex-10 modules in the enclosure then I’m assuming all we need to have spec’d on the actual blades is the correct Gen8 options for 10Gb Ethernet and 8Gb FC? And interconnects will be cable-less with connection made via the enclosure midplane?

From reading the HP specifications for the Gen8 blades am I correct that the Ethernet module would take the form of a LOM module, while the 8Gb FC module would be a traditional mezzanine card?

Thanks,

4 REPLIES 4
TVVJ
HPE Pro

Ensure that the VC Flex 10 10GB Ethernet modules firmware is at 3.7 or above.

Port X7 and x8 connect to the internal link between horizontally-adjacent Flex-10 enabled VC-Enet modules. For example if VC Flex-10 modules are installed in interconnect bays 1 and 2, then they are internally linked.  Only modules that are installed horizontally-adjacent are internally linked.  For recommended stacking connections, refer to section of the same name on page 43/242 of the HP Virtual Connect for c-Class BladeSystem User Guide, locatable at the following link: