6159 Online
108789 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Re: connect c7000 to cisco-based LAN

ali eman
Occasional Contributor

connect c7000 to cisco-based LAN

Hi,

I've been asked to look at configuring the network connection on an c7000 blade. We have 2 GBE switches in the rack, but at present only 1 of the ports (21) is connected to our external switch (cisco 2960).

I assume this is not ideal so I was wondering what the recommended setup is? Is teaming/aggregating recommended?

I'd be grateful for any feedback on this - please bear with me as I'm new to blades!

Cheers,
Al
5 REPLIES 5
Nick Eoannidis_1
Occasional Advisor

Hi Ali

Yes you can create a LAG with the LACP standard. What are the virtual connect models you have installed on your c7000 chassis?

To create a redundant lag with virtual connect you will need at least 2 links on each model that you want to aggregate.

All the cisco administrator scenarios including IOS config are provided in the following document.

http://h20000.www2.hp.com/bc/docs/support/SupportManual/c01386629/c01386629.pdf
ali eman
Occasional Contributor

We don't unfortuately have any "virtual connect" modules on our blade. If you look at the attachment on my original post you ca see that we only have 2x HP GbE2c Layer 2/3 Ethernet Blade Switch. Does this mean that I need to buy virtual connect modules to setup aggregation?

Thanks for you help with this.
Al

Adrian Clint
Honored Contributor

ali,

asking what is the recommended setup with the information you have is like asking for the recommended speed to drive your car.

Without knowing what you have and what you are trying to do there is no way the question could be answered.
Forget that this is blades. Its exactly the same question for rackmount servers.

Are you teaming your two onboard NICs?
Do you really only have one 2960?
When you say one of the ports (21) is connected - is that on each Gbe switch or just one switch?