1747984 Members
4729 Online
108756 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Re: Flex-10 with c7000, BL490c, vSphere 4.0 - slow speeds

Wim Kerkhoff

Flex-10 with c7000, BL490c, vSphere 4.0 - slow speeds

hello all,

I'm new here, but I hope I'm in the right place; based on other posts it seems to be the place to ask.

I'm trying to track down the cause of slow speeds in an NFS, 10GB, VMware environment. The problem is manifesting itself as slow sequential throughput on NFS (served by a fast Sun storage system), but after a bunch of investigation it appears that non-NFS is also slow.

I am new to HP virtual connect stuff but not new to networking. I have been reading up and have a strong idea on what the problem is in the setup, but need some verification on how this is supposed to work would be great! Let me know if more models or firmware versions are required; but basically all firmwares have been upgraded by previous engineers trying to crack this problem (ongoing for 6 months).

From what I can see, the VC is configured as follows:
- 4 x 10GB up to core 10GB HP switch as LACP trunk
- 6 VLANs are defined and mapped to each blade
- each blade has 2 x 10GB which appears as 8 vnics in vSphere
- only vnic0 (from 1st flex) and vnic1 (from 2nd flex) are lighting up in VMware, each at 10 Gbps. vnic1 is in standby mode. vnic 2-7 are all disconnected.
- at face value, this appears like everything should run at 10 Gbps and be very speedy.

But with NFS and netperf, we are only getting in the 100MB/s to 150MB/s range.

The 6 VLANs are all in use. one for vMotion, management, infrastructure, NFS Storage, Web/FTP, DMZ etc.

In vSphere's vSwitches, each VM is given multiple vNics for each VLAN that they need access to. So NIC1 = Web/FTP, NIC2=Oracle, etc.

The bandwidth allocations in the Virtual Connect Manager are all at default/auto settings. Nowhere in Vmware do I see any bandwidth rate limiting.