BladeSystem - General
1752801 Members
5216 Online
108789 Solutions
New Discussion

Help! BL460c Blades & Networking

Jordan Jones

Help! BL460c Blades & Networking

Firstly I’m a network engineer so I apologize in advance if I use all the wrong terminology. What I’m looking for actually is some better understanding of this hardware so we know how to best integrate it into our environment. We have several blade enclosures at this time and they are all set up differently which essentially smells like bad implementation to me. So what I’m trying to do is understand the product from the insight manager interface perspective.

If anyone can tell me if this is possible or not it would be most appreciated.

I hope this will make sense.

Bay 1 Server has 4 network interfaces. There is only one blade switch (2 switches)in the enclosure. Interfaces 1 & 2 are assigned to the appropriate blade switch interfaces.

The blade server has an additional dual nic installed. (interface 3) is needed to be configured as a heartbeat and the other (interface 4) for the backup network.

So the question is. Can i map these interfaces to the physical uplink ports on the front of the blade switchs.

This would allow us to accommodate the request without the need to purchase additional blade switches.

Thanks!
2 REPLIES 2
Matti_Kurkela
Honored Contributor

Re: Help! BL460c Blades & Networking

You did not specify your enclosure type, which turns out to be an important fact in this problem.

The "additional dual NIC" is probably installed in mezzanine slot 1 of the blade, as this would make the most sense in your configuration.