New Discussion

Re: Issues related to HP c7000 Blade System Enclousre

SOLVED
Go to solution
Waseem-HP
Advisor

Issues related to HP c7000 Blade System Enclousre

I am New to Blade System Technology, Please help me Regarding these Issues:

We have two c7000 Enclousres Installed and there are 4 Blades c460 G1 Installed on Each Encl.

Yesterday we got 8 New Blades HP460 G7 and when i tried to insert these blades into bays it just gives me Orange light and don't power up.

I contacted with HP and They said that i have to Update the firmware for C7000.

I Have no Idea how to Update this Firmware, How to Connect Computer with C7000 Encl to Update this?

And what is USB key and how can i do this with USB Key?

How can i access this C7000 Encl through ILO?

14 REPLIES 14
Robert_Jewell
Honored Contributor
Solution

Most likely, HP was referring to the c7000 enclosure Onboard Administrator, or OA.  The easiest way to update this is through a web browser.   Here are some basic instructions:

- Determine your enclosure OA IP address - the easiest way to do this is to use the front panel display of the enclosure to display Enclosure Info.

- Use this IP address and login to the OA from a web browser on a computer local to that network.

- From the main window, click on the Active Onboard Administrator item in the menu tree and look for firmware revision.  If you have anything less than version 3.x, you should update it.

To do this, first download the firmware image from hp.com:

> go to www.hp.com/go/oa

> locate and click on Software and Drivers, then Cross Operating System (BIOS,..).  Look for 'BladeSystem c-Class Onboard Adminstrator Firmware'.  Download the file to the system that you access the OA with.

Within the OA, look for 'Firmware Update' under the Active Onboard Administator menu tree.   Here you should see a place where you can browse for a file and apply a new firmware image.