108792 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Questions on VC Smartlinks

SOLVED
Go to solution
Bob Porambo
Occasional Contributor

Questions on VC Smartlinks

I am new to HP VC and have questions regarding Smartlinks.

We have a two enclosure confiuration interconnected by Stacking Links. Each enclosure has two Flex-10 Ethernet modules , Bay 1 and Bay 2. Configuration has one Shared Uplink Set and the domain operates in "mapping" mode. VC firmware 3.15. Linux and Windows blades

enc0:1:X1 Active
enc0:1:X2 Active

enc1:2:X1 Standby
enc1:2:X2 Standby

1) If the Active uplinks go down , the VC Module in enc0:1 should "down" all the ports going to the blade servers. Correct?

2) The uplinks on VC module enc1:X1/X2 will be come active. Will the servers in enc1 be impacted? In other words, will the VC
modules in enc1 change their downlink ports in any way?

3) Eventually the uplinks on enc0:1:X1/X2 will come back on line. I assume the "Active" uplinks will remain on enc1:2:X1/X2. Correct?
Will the VC module in enc0:1 bring the downlinks back on line? If so, will the servers in enc0: switch back their connections to the VC module
in enc0:1 ?

4) Somewhere I had take a note that enabling Smartlink on Vlans while in "mapping mode" would NOT cause the VC module to "down" ports upon uplink
failures. This would seem to go against everything in theory from the above steps. Did I just make a mistake taking notes or is there some correlation between
Smartlinks and the vlan mode used (mapping vs. tunneling)?

Thanks,
Bob
4 REPLIES 4
HEM_2
Honored Contributor
Solution

Re: Questions on VC Smartlinks

Bob,

Smartlink is usually only helpful when you employ an Active/Active Uplink configuration.

The configuration you have described above is a single Shared Uplink Set, i.e. Active\ Standby Uplink Configuration.