HPE EVA Storage
1751944 Members
5016 Online
108783 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Re: When will we create parition in a LUN ?

SOLVED
Go to solution
TonyJK1
Frequent Advisor

When will we create parition in a LUN ?

I am new to SAN and would like to know in what circumstances we will create partition in a LUN (In a FC SAN).

Thanks
11 REPLIES 11
Uwe Zessin
Honored Contributor

Do you mean partition a container inside a storage array or partition a logical disk by the operating system presented by the storage array?
TonyJK1
Frequent Advisor

This is because I am working on VMWare and they say that for a particular storage, it is identified as vmhbaA:T:L:P where

A = is the adapter card
T = is the SCSI Target
L = is the LUN number
P = is the partition number

I just wonder if we use a FC SAN, will there be any partition in a LUN ?

From my understanding, there is no point in creating partition in a LUN. We just have to create another LUN.

Thanks
Uwe Zessin
Honored Contributor
Solution

A VMFS always lives inside a partition and an FC LUN just appears as another SCSI LUN - in fact: FCP is serial SCSI protocol over a Fibre Channel infrastructure.

It is pretty easy in VMware:
- open the Virtual Infrastructure Client
- select a server and goto the 'Configuration' tab
- choose 'Storage (SCSI, SAN, NFS)'
- 'Add Storage...'
and so on.

Make sure you select a Fibre Channel device, but the VI-Client will do all the rest including creating a partition table, setting up the VMFS partition with a nice offset and the correct Id (0xFC). Then it will initialize the VMFS for you.

No need to deal with COS commands like 'fdisk' and 'vmkfstools'.
Uwe Zessin
Honored Contributor

I've just remembered I have a nice example of which I'll attach a screen shot.

vmhba1:0:5:1 is the head partition of a VMFS that is made of 4 extents. Each extent is a partition on the same disk.
TonyJK1
Frequent Advisor

Thank you for your advice.