JD_5
Frequent Advisor

Linux not shutting down :-(

I try shutting down the computer, but the system hangs at the
message (from the screen):

HELP! The only thing I can think of is that I switched on my screen
saver a few sessions ago, and
It just started for the first time in the session when the problem
started. But I'm just a newbie so I really don't know whether this could be the problem or not. I'm positive I didn't touch the personal-firewall.initial file. I know from a few messages back that it says its unused. I'm scared now to even turn on Linux because I know it won't stop. ITS GONE MAD. >:-)

1) Is it safe to just flip the switch after this message? When is it
safe to flip the switch if it hangs?

2) Is there a file somewhere that lists the logout proceedures?

3) Where is the file that the computer runs for logging out?

4) Is there documentation somewhere about the shutdown proceedure so I can learn a bit more on what is happening and why its happening...

:-/
7 REPLIES 7
I_M
Honored Contributor

Re: Linux not shutting down :-(

Hi

shutdown procedure
1) login as root user
2) # cd /
3) # sync;sync
4) # shutdown -h 0
5) If your system support APM, system will power off.
If your system don't support APM, the power is keep on. You will see" system halted" message on the console. Which mean, you may power off your system.

Regards,
JD_5
Frequent Advisor

??? Sorry, I don't understand your
response. My system does support
APM and it usually does turn it self
off... However its not anymore.
I don't mind flipping the switch
myself but the computer never
gives me a message like "Its safe to Turn computer off now...".

I don't even know if its suppose to...
Vladislav Demidov
Honored Contributor

Hello
1. It relatively save to just flip the switch if your box hangs. You just may lost some application data. It also may affect filesystem integrity but all modern filesystems are able to repair themself automatically.