HPE 9000 and HPE e3000 Servers
1752577 Members
4053 Online
108788 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Re: HP9000 G50 Beep codes - Power up issues

HP9000 G50 Beep codes - Power up issues

I have a Hp9000 G50 that upon power up, tests the DDS drive (both lights flash, display solid grenn and orange lights on the front panel(with one and three dots below them respectivly)will spin the HDD, give one long (about 3sec beep), pause about 10 sec, and then do it all over again. After about 10 mins. the first light (green, with one dot stamped under it on the front panel)shuts off, but the other one (with three dots under it) stays solid orange. eventually the bee codes stop and it seem to spin up the fans and HDD, but I am gett no respose from the console (a 700/96).

I think it may be a bad HDD, but I dont know since I have no knowledge of the beep codes.
Any help would be greatly appreciated.
7 REPLIES 7
Stefan Stechemesser
Honored Contributor

from what I know, the G40 does not give any beeb codes. Maybe the beeb comes from a modem or an UPS ? The behaviour sounds like the system is running through the self test and stopping in the Boot Console Handler (BCH). Most common cause of this problem: A hanging console. Try to reset the console by turning it off, then press "d" for 10 seconds during you turn on the console. If after this still no output on the console can be seen, try booting without the console (does the attention LED go out and the run LED go on ?).

Best regards

Stefan
malvin drakley
Esteemed Contributor

I think you will find that on these old G systems the disc is the device that makes the beeping. I have had several machines that have done this and they all have been attributable to disc failures
malvin
Not me Chief, I'm Radar

Hi!