4854 Online
108758 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Re: The /var filesystem is full

SOLVED
Go to solution
Deborah J. Johnson

The /var filesystem is full

How can I extend the /var filesystem (HP-UX 10.20)? I tried extending it through sam, but was unsuccessful. The following processes are attached: syslogd, swagentd, cron, ptydaemon, vuegreet, lpsched, vtdaemon, ARMServer, etc. I am a part-time administrator, PLEASE HELP!!

THANKS
11 REPLIES 11
Pete Randall
Outstanding Contributor
Solution

You need to get /var unmounted and the only way to accomplish that is to go into single user mode. Reboot the machine with the "shutdown -r -y 0" command. When it starts to come back up you'll receive a prompt that says you have 10 seconds to interrup the boot process by striking any key. Do so. Then enter "hpux -is" at the ISL prompt to boot into single user mode. Do a "mount -a" to get all the file systems mounted. The do a "umount /var" and run your lvextend and extendfs commands (syntax is available in the man pages for each - go to the Examples section).

Pete

Pete
MarkSyder
Honored Contributor

Rather than extending it see if there are any things you can get rid of.

Check the size of the following files:

/var/adm/btmp
/var/adm/sulog
/var/adm/wtmp
/var/adm/cron/log
/var/adm/lp/log
/var/adm/syslog/mail.log
/var/adm/syslog/syslog.log

DO NOT delete any of these files: null them thus:

> /var/adm/syslog/syslog.log

but make sure you check the syslog first to make sure there's nothing you need to know about.

If you really are squeezed for space, you could set up a separate filesystem hanging of /var in its own logical volume: e.g. /var/adm/crash (which it's always a good idea to have in its own lvol anyway).

Mark Syder (like the drink but spelt different)
The triumph of evil requires only that good men do nothing
Pete Randall
Outstanding Contributor