3995 Online
108759 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Re: IO error encountered in rsync command

AnkushKalra
Advisor

IO error encountered in rsync command

Hi,

I am new to hpux.I have a script which sync data between host A and Host B using "rsync"

We use below script to copy data Between host A to Host B.

echo " *************Sync*********************">> /home/abc/rsyncLogs/logsFS1.txt
date >> /home/abc/rsyncLogs/logsFS1.txt
rsync -zavru /Filesystem1/ --delete --exclude='lost+found/' username@HostBIP:/Filesystem1/. >> /home/abc/rsyncLogs/logsFS1.txt
date >> /home/abc/rsyncLogs/logsFS1.txt

It was previously running fine.Since 2-3 days i am getting this error as below.

error:

*************Sync*********************<Date>
sending incremental file list

some/file/path

IO error encountered -- skipping file deletion

I beleive there is some issue in file permission.If there is,then please let me know on which host A or B there is permission issue

and how to resolve the issue.

Thanks in advance

9 REPLIES 9
Bill Hassell
Honored Contributor

The text "IO error" usually means that there is a disk problem. Since it is reported during the file deletion task, this occurs on the destination (B) machine. But without a lot more details, the exact problem is unknown.  We don't know what kind of machines are HostA and HostB. Are they both HP-UX? Or Linux? Or iMac? Or Windows....

So you'll need to figure out where the error logs are located in HostB. If HostB is running HP-UX, then the logfile /var/adm/syslog/syslog.log will be useful. You might run a dd to read all the tracks in the HostB filesystem. Sory, I can't provide any ideas for iMac or Windows...

Bill Hassell, sysadmin
AnkushKalra
Advisor

Thanks for the reply!!!

What kind ofproblem do you mean in Filesystem?is it permission problem or anything else,

Both Host A and Host B are HPUX Servers

Bill Hassell
Honored Contributor