ProLiant Servers (ML,DL,SL)
1753701 Members
4955 Online
108799 Solutions
New Discussion

Re: Constellation ES.2 Showing up as invalid Blocksize in the serial number field in ACU

kcam001
Frequent Visitor

Constellation ES.2 Showing up as invalid Blocksize in the serial number field in ACU

Hi Folks. Got a bit of a head scratcher and I'm still fairly new to servers. I've recently got a hold of a 3TB seagate hard drive from ebay to test out a new storage solution I have planned for the main server here and I'm currently doing this on a test server lab I've setup. I have 2 3TB drives, one is an ES.3 and another which is an ES.2. The ES.3 works fine and is able to beconfigured as a RAID 0, however the ES.2 is not detected at all and will come up "invalid Blocksize in the serial number field if the drive replaces the ES.3. The drive is a 3TB model ST33000650SS. Both drives are attached to a smart array P410. I've looked arround to try and see if theres any compatability issue with the drive and the raid card but haven't been able to find any relavent info. Also I was also thinking about getting the P420 to try and solve this but also want to make sure its not the drive. I've attached a screenshot as well

5525241.jpg

4 REPLIES 4
Dennis Handly
Acclaimed Contributor

Re: Constellation ES.2 Showing up as invalid Blocksize in the serial number field in ACU

Looks like the drive is formatted incorrectly?  520 vs 512.

kcam001
Frequent Visitor

Any way to sort this as it also doesn't even get detected in orca when F8 is pressed

kcam001
Frequent Visitor