1753481 Members
3917 Online
108794 Solutions
New Discussion

Re: HP ML350e Gen8 Fan Noise

Sean Corbett
Advisor

I am an HP field engineer that is working on a case with the exact problem talked about in this thread.  My case has been elevated to a higher level of support within HP.  If and when I get some answers on how to fix this issue I will post the info up here for everyone.  The server I'm currently working on is an ML350e Gen8 with a single processor and no redundant fan kit.  It also has no PCIe cards plugged in.

I am an HP employee

*** If my answer helped you click on the KUDOS star on the left to say Thanks ***
yudah

can you please try this action plan its work for me :

1. update the server by spp 2013

2. move jumper 6 to on to clear nvram

thanks

Oekandana

had the same issue with ML350p GEN8

all fans at high speed, even after reset switch 6

server was brand new, shipped with SPP 2013

ILO flashed to 1.22 -> no less noise.

what helped for me :

* reseated all the FAN one by one

* reseated the complete FAN cage 

* repower

-> startup speed of FANS was low now, and stays low

issue solved :-)

Nezza_815
Occasional Visitor

Hi

I also have a ML3503 Gen8 with the exact same issue. BIOS current, SPP installed. Initially it was at the work office getting setup. The speed/sound of the fans would differ everytime a reboot was performed. Then at the HP POST screen it was showing a Fan 3 error. I swapped fan 3 with fan 4, but it was still showing a fan 3 error - not good. Gave the logs to HP support and they said the iLO was out of date so I ran the update to version 1.22 and it solved the fan issue...

But then I moved it to its new location and the loud speeding fans happened again. Re-booted several times but no difference. Troubelshoot the issue with HP again, who went through all the basic steps (BIOS current, SPP installed, iLO current) Logged into the server to check the HP management log to show fan 3 was failing and repairing every 1 minute.