3074 Online
108761 Solutions
New Discussion

Re: HP Proliant DL580 Gen8 and GPU's

GertDekkers
Occasional Contributor

HP Proliant DL580 Gen8 and GPU's

Dear all,

I'm a PhD student at KU Leuven university.  I have a HP Proliant DL 580 Gen8 server with 3 GPU's at my disposal. Lately we've been experiencing full system shutdowns. The main thing that has changed is that I added an additional GPU. I'm certain that is is related but I don't know the exact cause. 
In the iLO we get the following message at 'Integrated Management Log':
System Power Fault Detected (XR: 10 A2 MID: BF 0F F0 00 00 FF 3F 0B 0B 04 04 0B 0B 0B 0B 04 04 ....)

The server setup:
HP PROLIANT DL580 Gen8 4X I-XEON E7-4850v2 12-CORE 2.30GHZ 512GB DDR3 RAM P830i 2GB RACK RAILS
4x 1500W Power
2x Geforce RTX2080Ti, 1x Geforce GTX1080Ti
CentOS

We think it's related to the GPU causing power issues/heat issues (although measured values are within accepted values).
By removing one GPU and limiting the average power to 220W for each CPU we haven't experienced any outages so far. 
Does someone have any experience with this server along with GPU's? I was also wondering what the 10-pin MOLEX auxiliary power connectors can provide? Now a single MOLEX is used to power one GPU. Also, does it matter which connector I use?

All information is welcome.
Thanks!

Best,
Gert

18 REPLIES 18
KSINGH_2018
HPE Pro

Geforce RTX2080Ti & Geforce GTX1080Ti  are not listed under the compatible list of GPUs for DL580 Gen8 as per the server quickspecs.

https://h20195.www2.hpe.com/v2/getdocument.aspx?docname=c04199329

Kindly coordinate with NVIDIA and check the Hardware Compatibility List of the Vendor to confir if the GPU is supported by DL580 Gen8 Server or not.