1748134 Members
3571 Online
108758 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Re: re-install SBS 2003

Scott_414

re-install SBS 2003

Hi there
how do I start the re-installation of SBS 2003 operating system?
SBS 2003 Cds provided are NOT service pack 1 and when I boot from these cds system does not see my raid drives?
I am new to servers and thought there may be a doc on web explaining this to me but cant find one.
Appreciate any help as to what are the first steps.
Emailed HP suppoprt with no reponse?!

thanks!
10 REPLIES 10
Steven Clementi
Honored Contributor

Scott:

It is likely that you need to load an additional RAID Controller Driver at the beginning of the Windows installation. The first thing the install prompts you to do is... "Press F6 to specify additional drivers"

Which model Server do you have?

Steven
Steven Clementi
HP Master ASE, Storage, Servers, and Clustering
MCSE (NT 4.0, W2K, W2K3)
VCP (ESX2, Vi3, vSphere4, vSphere5, vSphere 6.x)
RHCE
NPP3 (Nutanix Platform Professional)
scott_415

Thanks Steve
I sort of realised this and attempted to do this many times..but system wont respond to F6 (it will respond to F2)

So it then goes through set up and then asks again for Raid drivers again when no mass storage is found but asks for them to be loaded into floppy!
This system has no floppy

System is just delivered Proliant Ml 110

thanks
Mark_554
Advisor

If you do not have a floppy disc then the only way is to create a new SBS boot disc and slipstream the drivers on to it. But if you are going to do that then you may as well do SP1 at the same time.

I think the quickest and easiest way will be to buy a floppy drive and cable from the local store and plug it in so you can do this (even if you don't mount it properly at the time).

Good luck
scott_415

Yep
thats exactly what I did
on system boot it does NOT accept F6 to go into raid set up...
it then progresses to give me the opportuntity to set up from floppy
it does this