StoreEver Tape Storage
1753514 Members
6426 Online
108795 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

DPE SSE reports Media Errors on Brand New Media

Craig Brehm

DPE SSE reports Media Errors on Brand New Media

I am running DPE SSE 3.5 on Windows 2003. I have been running backup jobs nightly without error since June 2008.

Suddenly, for the past week, I have been receiving media errors and my backups have failed.

I ran the cleaner tape through the drive. I received another error warning me that my tape was not usable.

I opened a brand new tape.

I ran a backup and received the following error:

"Error 4075: TapeAlert - Critical - Media

Your data is at risk: 1. Copy any data you require from this tape. 2. Do not use this tape again. 3. Restart the operation with a different tape."

If a brand new tape in a recently cleaned drive won't work, I think I have a different issue, and the error codes are pointing me in the wrong direction.

I attempted to perform a backup to an external HD using a virtual tape device. I am backing up 17GB of data to a 75GB drive. I am told there is not enough room to complete the operation.

This makes me think I have an issue with the DPE SSE software.

Any suggestions?
5 REPLIES 5
Craig Brehm

Re: DPE SSE reports Media Errors on Brand New Media

I forgot to mention that I am using a StorageWorks DAT 72 USB external tape drive.

I have downloaded the StorageWorks Drive and Tape Tools. The diagnostics report the drive is in very good shape.

It simply hates all of our tapes.

I am trying to update the firmware, but it does not seem to recognize the firmware I just downloaded from HP.
Olibe Babaco
Frequent Advisor

Hi Craig,

I hope you will receive other ideas then mine, but just to point some steps you might perform.

First of all according to me it will be a great idea run LTT diagnostic
Assessment test and Media assessment test will be enough -> check the logs there might be some issues with the cartridge or the drive itself.